Giving Tuesday

Looking for a different cause to support? A different community to give to? We’ve got a wonderful local-to-Massachusetts cause for anyone looking to support a great cause this Holiday season! #givingtuesday
Author: T.mom

December 1st 2023

The best part of the holidays is togetherness. As a mom, it’s mostly frantic gift buying, planning, schedule managing, & last minute running around – but it’s also watching the people you love receive.

When the kids are all grown up, the house and cars are paid off or up to date. The Christmas tree is covered in memories & the holiday shopping lists are fulfilled, how else can we celebrate Christmas??

What about those who are successful, but do not celebrate Christmas??? Many of those adults find that the best part of the Holiday Season, is the giving part right?

There’s hundreds of thousands of foundations & fundraisers you can support each and every day. You can support their cause by making a 1 time donation, or reoccurring donations, by donating gifts, ‘adopting families’, volunteering your self & your time… but on this Giving Tuesday, I’ve come across a couple of Causes that really stand out to me.

These are not every-day fundraisers. They are very short term & to the point… they are to raise money for a particular cause, and once donations have been made, the change they are looking to make will happen . When supporting the cause, You will see the change you are supporting as it is happening.

1. GSEMA – Give4GirlScouts Challenge

When supporting the Girl Scouts of Eastern Massachusetts, every dollar really does help—and can make the following possible:

  • An $8 donation provides a Girl Scout with a new sash. 
  • A $14 donation buys a handbook for a new troop leader. 
  • A $50 donation covers a Girl Scout’s annual membership fee. 
  • A $100 donation welcomes four Girl Scouts to an Outdoor Skills program for the first time. 
  • A $320 donation sends a Girl Scout to April Vacation Adventures at no cost to their family. 
  • A $1,200 donation purchases food for 100 attendees at our annual Family Day at camp.

I’m a Girl Scout Troop leader with a troop of 9 , and have my own Scouts.

From experience, we see these funds being used each and every time a Girl Scout registers to be a Girl Scout & cannot afford the cost of a GSEMA membership. Each and every time a Girl Scout troop is going to one of our camps for a daytime or overnight activity & they need to apply for a voucher. Or when 1 or 2 out of 12 girls in a troop does not have a flashy vest / sash to wear to meetings & events & feels left out or saddened.

These funds help keep Girl Scouts moving forward, and that’s something to support!!

#Give4GirlScouts

#GSEMA

#callingallgirlscouts

#GirlScouts

#GirlScoutsOfAmerica

Published by The Truth Mommy Blog

Hey there! Welcome to The Truth, Love Mommy :] I'm Tmom- an entrepreneurial, mom of 4 , balancing life as a Mom, as a Human, my cleaning business, as well as my recovery & addictions. I'm here for fun; to learn, grow & most importantly, to tell the Truth; [the whole truth & nothing but the truth]. I've been told by many people that I need to start a blog, write a book, or even just a journal, that could one day be published. Throughout COVID, I began really questioning my place, my purpose, in this crazy chaotic World. I'd been a SAHM for close to 10 years, and really lost myself in it. (Which IS Okay) I began making things, creating things; like, personalized Tshirts, cups, tumblrs, decals, etc. in hopes to create a small business out of it. I even gave it a snazzy name, "For Cups Sakes". ( ahh yes Spoonerisms) It wasn't a very quick start up, therefore I turned to blogging / journaling. I want to show people real life stuff. I want to tell daily events in my eyes. I want more perspective, and interaction. I want to know my people, people with like interests and similar stories to share. So Lets hang out, chat, advise, and just "vibe" ;]. Lets share our stories and grow together. Let's be real, like, really real, not just for FB real. Help me on my Journey to Creating a Legacy that's worth Leaving.

Leave a comment